August 14, 2006

Confessions of St. A11entine…

Posted in Procrastination, Work at 1:21 am by a11en

Hey! A quick one here guys… I have a confession to make- for some reason, procrastination has me in its vice-like grip. It’s so frustrating. I just can’t bring myself to get my work done on Sat./Sun. even though I know it needs to be done for Monday. As well, completely disregarding the Now Habit, I pretend-schedule long sessions of work that I know will be hard to start… even when I know it needs to be done, and it’s itching under my skin… I keep doing stupid stuff, like reading my bloglines feeds. UGH. This is going to be a long process… the long hard process of productivity, efficiency, and effectiveness. I guess all I can do is get back on my horse and keep trying. Grr… So, sorry that the blog is not with it this week, it’s been a rough one. I hope to have more for you guys very soon. I should have remembered my 20 minute dashes, my 10+2×5 hack, and my “just start it!” rules! I wish you guys a fun and productive week! Don’t forget to schedule your unschedule events- the things that you do outside of work, so you can see your free time better… and actually plan real breaks that you can look forward to. I seem to constantly be stealing time away from myself… having half-a$$ed breaks that I feel bad about- that doesn’t help me relax, or get work done, now does it?

Incidentally, all of the above is addressed in Fiore’s book- so, I’m not doing a good job of implementation this weekend it seems.  It’s amazing how dead on Fiore is on this stuff.  (The Now Habit by Neil Fiore)

At least I can look forward to a good shave tomorrow morning! Oh, and I finally did some work on the motorcycle- so that’ll soon be up and running again. That’s been on my action list for a very long time!

Ok, off to do 20 minute dash on my work! Earphones, check, Beethoven Symphony number 8, check… pen and paper, check… I’m off to the races!

Relevant links:

2 Comments »

  1. flexiblefine said,

    Good luck, A11en! Some days are better than others, and we all have to learn to accept that… and find a way to start one more time.

  2. a11en said,

    Hey flexiblefine! 🙂 Thanks for the luck man, it must have helped- ’cause I stayed focused on work, and had a 2 hour phone conversation about statistics- yikes! So, I was pretty on task. I’ll try and do my half-hour focus sessions tomorrow as well, and see if I can’t hammer out a good set of work here.

    It’s all about the starting! I completely agree, man!


Leave a Reply

