July 21, 2006

Short one today (aggregators and time)…

Posted in GTD, Mac Software, Procrastination at 1:40 pm by a11en

Just a short post for today… a bit of a productivity hint here and kudos go out to Bloglines. I’ve recently started using Bloglines as an online aggregator. (I wanted some sort of simple aggregator to pass through geektool, but for now, bloglines and their simple unread web-notifier api will work for me…) I hate to say this, but it really helps free up some of my time. I tended to surf to various pages with RSS feeds (a number of blogs as well as productivity sites), and perhaps surf them a number of times, only to find them not updated yet. I guess I sort of enjoyed this mind-numbing surfing, not realizing it was taking me too much time. Now, with the firefox extensions installed, or my geektool notifier running, I’m less likely to worry about the sites I like to read, and concentrate on other things. It’s one less “goof off” time-waster when I’m trying to avoid my work (procrastination). Kinda like the fact that it’s no longer a time sink now. :)

So, if you haven’t tried some sort of aggregator, you should check one out- either web-based or computer based, it might save you some time- allow you to enjoy the sites you like to read, yet free up your time so you don’t keep checking 5 sites over and over again. ;)

Future posts that I’m working on for you:

  • How to liberate those underlined and exclaimation-pointed sections in those books you read so that they can feed your work on a daily basis.
  • Esterbrooks- a woman’s backyard stream, or an everyday man’s pen?
  • And at some point in time, a bit more on changing the face of graduate education and a Now Habit procrastination update. BTW, the Now Habit is absolutely superb. I’m totally loving that book. I hope to sometime have an outline overview of the book posted, but I may have to contact the author just to ensure I can post it in full. I’m around 3/4 of the way in at the moment, and it continues to change my view of my work, and motivate me.

BTW- Some kudos goes out to the creators of FlexTime. A promising young application for more advanced and easily created alarms. I use it to feed my 10+2×5, or 10-minute dash hack (see my previous procrastination posts). (Add applescript ability [both in and out], multiple triggers for a single alarm event- along with scripting triggers, or perhaps shell-script triggers- and you’ll have a very interesting program there! As well, a minimization or transparent running clock window which floats above all applications so we can see events if we want, would allow me to hide it and still keep track of my time.)

4 Comments »

  1. “How to liberate those underlined and exclaimation-pointed sections in those books you read so that they can feed your work on a daily basis.” – I’ve been interested in this as well. I’m looking forward to it.

  2. a11en said,

    Hey Matthew! Thanks for the comment! I’m working on the post, but as it’s like 3 or 4 programs linked together, I’m worried readers will zone out in a daze easily. ;) I’ll try my best to summarize, be brief, yet make sure it’s understandable. I think it’s an interesting solution that affords a lot of options for personalization/integration with other services, i just worried that since it’s a cludged together solution, it might not work too well for everyone. :) But, we’ll see!! :)

    My Prof. comes back from Japan tomorrow (wed)., so I’m a bit swamped with work at the moment, but I’ll work more on the post this evening, and see if I can’t get it together for a post tomorrow evening late… I’m going to make things better over time with my solution, but the first bit will be a bit rough around the edges.

  3. Hi A11en – I hope you don’t mind my putting this “ad” here but since you mentioned FlexTime I thought you’d be interested to know that it’s gone 1.0 and is available from my site:

    http://www.red-sweater.com/flextime/

    Not all of your wishlist is fulfilled yet, but the scripting abilities are pretty mature, now. Check it out!

  4. a11en said,

    Hey Daniel,

    Welcome to my little blog!! :) Thanks for posting, I appreciate it. Flextime is a very unique and interesting app. I think it’s excellent. I totally loved the Flextime-Growl scripts that were posted a while ago as well.

    I’ll try and mention the app along with some software posts coming up in a small series I’m still working on. :)

    Best of luck with your software Daniel!!
    -Allen


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

